Zyprexa

So, I’ve started taking Zyprexa, an anti-psychotic. I’m not psychotic, I just feel anxious all the time. When I say I’m anxious all the time, I’m serious. I feel on edge at random times during the day, not just at meal times. If I start feeling stressed out about something, I’ll feel stressed out hours later, even if the stressful situation has been resolved.  Zyprexa is actually the only medication that has been shown to help people with anorexia at a low body weight. I’ve tried SSRIs with no success. There are two side effects that come with Zyprexa that may help me: it’s a mild sedative and it helps with weight gain. I have a hard time sleeping, but since I’ve started taking it, I haven’t had a problem falling asleep. In fact, I’ve had a hard time not napping all day! :/  The only other side effect I’ve experienced is a back ache, but it’s not dehabilitating. It’s just annoying. I’ve noticed a slight change in my anxiety level already! Another plus to this medication, is that it doesn’t take weeks to start working, like other psych meds. It works 8 hours after taking it the first time. I’m hopeful that this medication will actually help me.

2 thoughts on “Zyprexa

  1. Thanks for sharing your journey about this disorder. I hope lots of people can benefit from this info and seek help! =)

Leave a Reply

